We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings,
we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the website. Learn more about out privacy policy


24/06 - 20/07/2013

photo Tine Declerck
Galleryphoto Tine Declerck
  • The point of departure for Built to Last was an on-stage confrontation of a group of dancers with the “totality” of classical music by artists including Sergei Rachmaninoff, Ludwig van Beethoven, Iannis Xenakis, Meredith Monk and Arnold Schoenberg among others. The selected works are turning points in the history of music. They represent important changes in mankind‘s relation towards ideals and utopias. The actors and dancers act and react driven by the music as if they were carried away by a time-machine. They are forced to deal with constantly changing situations and states of consciousness.

    As Meg Stuart says: „The expression ‘built to last' betrays a belief in eternal values, heroism and universality. How can we cope today with the expression of such self-confidence? We feel the urge to continue reinventing ourselves. We have to move forward. Many things are designed to break after a short time. There is also the sense of an approaching end. Everyone is privately preparing for it. It is sad, but that's the way it is. Maybe Built to Last is about how, in the light of eternity, we can practice taking our leave."

    Built to Last is presented in the context of House on Fire; with the support of the Culture Programme of the European Union.

    Following pieces of music can be heard in Built to Last:
    Hymnen Region II - Karlheinz Stockhausen
    Zwischenspiel - Hans Zender
    Thalleïn - Iannis Xenakis
    Symphony No. 3 “Eroica”- Ludwig van Beethoven
    Staub - Helmut Lachenmann
    Lontano - György Ligeti
    Vespers Op. 37 No. 1 - Sergeï Rachmaninov
    Symphony No. 9 “From the New World“- Antonin Dvoràk
    Sederunt Principes - Pérotin
    Pierrot Lunaire: Der Kranke Mond - Arnold Schönberg
    Astronaut Anthem - Meredith Monk
    Symphony No. 9 - Anton Bruckner
    Le Temps et l’Ecume - Gérard Grisey
    Atmospheres - György Ligeti
    Misa “Et ecce terrae motus“ - Antoine Brumel
    Gurrelieder: Seht die Sonne - Arnold Schönberg


  • Meg Stuart is choreographer and dancer living and working in Brussels and Berlin. She has collaborated with theatre directors, actors, composers and visual artists including Hahn Rowe, Christoph Marthaler, Doris Dziersk and Philipp Gehmacher. With her Brussels based company Damaged Goods, Stuart has created over twenty productions, ranging from solos to large‐scale choreographies and including site‐specific creations and installations. Over the years she has initiated and taken part in several improvisation projects. Her work has travelled a wide international theatre circuit and has also been presented at Documenta X (1997) in Kassel and at Manifesta7 (2008) in Bolzano. She received a Bessie Award for her body of work (2008), a Flemish Culture Prize in the category performing arts (2008), and the German Konrad‐Wolf‐Preis (2012).